Jump to Navigation

FAQS

1) Must there be at least 4 repair attempts within the first 18 months or 18,000 miles?
No. The law requires a "reasonable number of repair attempts". What constitutes a "reasonable number" depends upon your particular circumstances.

2) Does my vehicle have to be new?
No. The California Lemon Law applies to new and used vehicles with an express warranty or service contract.

3) Do I have to pay attorney fees?
No. Most cases are handled on a contingency basis. If you don't win, you don't pay. If you win, attorney fees are paid by the warrantor or service contract provider.

4) Does the vehicle have to be out of service for at least 30 days?
No.The law does not require that your vehicle be out of service for at least 30 days. The law requires a "reasonable number of repair attempts".

5) Does the vehicle have to be used primarily for personal, family or household purposes?
No. Even vehicles registered to a business qualify under the California Lemon Law if there are no more than five vehicles registered to that business in this state.

6) Do I have to go through an arbitration program first?
No. The California Lemon Law does NOT require prior resort to arbitration.

Practice Areas

The Law Offices of Michael S. Humphries
1400 Ocean Ave
Seal Beach, CA 90740

Phone: 562-493-0289
Toll Free: 1-866-344-4999
Fax: 562-493-0371

E-mail Us
Seal Beach Law Office Map

Review Us